Skip to content

Winter Sports – Middle School Tryout Info 2017-18

131 Reads

0 Comments

all-oxford

2017-18 Winter Sports Tryout & Practice Information – OXFORD MIDDLE SCHOOL

For those students wishing to participate in interscholastic athletics at Oxford Middle School, the following requirements must be met:

  • Students entering grade 8 must have passed at least four (4) classes in the previous semester.
  • EVERY student must have a current physical exam. A current physical is one taken on or after April 15th of the current year. Physical forms are available ONLINE or at the middle school offices.
  • Transfer, home school and virtual school students must be cleared to participate by the district athletic director.

Questions?  Jordan Ackerman: District Athletics Director – 248-969-5110,  jordan.ackerman@oxfordschools.org

Below is a listing of tryouts and practices to begin the season. 

Please check back often as this schedule may change without notice.

 

Boys’ Middle School Basketball Tryouts

  • Requirements: Sports Physical, Gym Shoes, and Shorts/T-Shirt.
  • 6th/7th Grade Tryouts: November 8th, 9th, and 10th from 3:00-5:00PM in the Middle School gym.

(Please contact Coach Trotter at jake.trotter@oxfordschools.org with questions re: 6th/7th grade tryouts.)

  • 8th Grade Tryouts: November 2nd, 3rd, and 6th from 3:00-5:00PM in the Middle School gym.

(Please contact Coach Nicks at richard.nicks@oxfordschools.org with questions re: 8th grade tryouts.)

 

Team Coach Coach Contact
8th Grade Gold Shawn Regan shawn.regan@oxfordschools.org
7th Grade Gold Jake Trotter Jake.trotter@oxfordschools.org
8th Grade Blue tbd  
7th Grade Blue Richard Nicks Richard.nicks@oxfordschools.org

 

 

Competitive Cheerleading (6th, 7th, 8th)

  • Info coming soon! Stayed tuned to announcements at OMS.
  • Equipment needed: see competitive cheer packet

 

Team Coach Coach Contact
8th Grade Jamie Kmetz Jamie.kmetz@oxfordschools.org
7th Grade Heather Dalling coachdalling@charter.net

 

 

OMS Volleyball (Grades 6-8)

  • Tryouts will be held late January. Announcements will be posted @ OMS.

 

Team Coach Coach Contact
8th Grade Gold Gayle Tucker Gayle.tucker@oxfordschools.org
7th Grade Gold tbd  
8th Grade Blue Daneen Kincaid Daneen.kincaid@oxfordschools.org
7th Grade Blue Cheryl Romine oxfordvballscjccj@yahoo.com

 

 

Middle School Wrestling (6th – 8th Grade)

  • No cuts … every student can make the team
  • Conditioning starts around Jan 20 – watch for announcements.
  • Head Coach – Jack Beall – JBeall@rochester.k12.mi.us

 

 

  • Latest Photo Galleries

    View More Galleries

  • SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS

  • FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

  • LIKE US ON FACEBOOK

  • SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS